Cake for Breakfast!

November 16, 2010

After two months of owning Baked Explorations; Classic American Desserts Reinvented, and after reading it just about every night, I feel prepared to attack one of the recipes. For some reason I feel the need to devour things visually and mentally before physically devouring anything, and I think this mindset dates back to reading that one of the most important things you can do when you bake is read the recipe in its entirety before starting the process. Translated into Colleen-speak, though, this important rule of thumb transforms from something simple, taking no more than five minutes, into reading entire books, or archives, multiple times. Not only do I have this recipe memorized, I also have the entire book ready for recall at any moment. Just in case. You never know.

Anyway, one of the many reasons I’m in love with this book is that it has a breakfast section! I’m a girl who not only has to have breakfast every morning, but usually has to go for a second breakfast. Much like the hobbits of Tolkien fame, in fact. It’s no wonder that the idea of cake for breakfast makes me giddy. I had to make my first baketivity with Baked Explorations a breakfast venture, and it just so happens that I’ve been eating oatmeal with chocolate every morning for the last week. The stars aligned, and pointed to this recipe.

Because I’m still working out the logistics of my blogging style, I’m offering a disclaimer, and probably not the first one you’ll read. Instead of just typing the recipe up, which I’m not even sure is allowed in terms of respecting copyrights and all that, I’m going to type it up the way I made it. The ingredients won’t differ so much as the order of the steps, and other technical things. And, really, I’m still a beginner at this baking thing, so my typing up the recipe according to my personal baking style helps me, especially in this circumstance, where the recipes from the book seem a little daunting.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cake

Breakfast of champions

(Adapted from Baked Explorations, by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito)

Ingredients:

1 ½ to 2 cups chocolate chips (I used chopped chocolate, a mixture of 60% and 72% dark)

½ teaspoon of your preferred liquor

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour, and an extra 2 tablespoons

1 cup rolled, or “old-fashioned” oats if you are oat illiterate like me

1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature, cut into tablespoons

2 eggs

¾ cup white granulated sugar

1 ¼ cups dark brown sugar (or light brown sugar with an extra tablespoon of molasses)

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 ½ teaspoons cinnamon

Method:

1. Prepare a 9 by 13 inch pan, glass or light colored metal if you have it, however you normally prepare a pan, be it butter and flour or baking spray.

2. Boil water, and then measure out 1 ¼ cups.

3. In a bowl large enough to accommodate the water and oats, put the tablespoon pats of butter in with the oats, then pour the water over the mixture. Wait for 30 seconds, and then stir until the butter is completely melted.

4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. You need set the oatmeal mixture aside, uncovered, for about 30 minutes, so it’s wise to let it sit while the oven is preheating.

5. Toss the chocolate chips, or chocolate chunks, with the liquor, until the chocolate seems evenly coated, then do the same with the 2 tablespoons of flour. Set this mixture aside as well.

6. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the eggs, sugars, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon. Fold in the oatmeal mixture, then gently fold in the 1 ½ cups of flour.

7. Lastly, fold in the chocolate just until the chocolate seems incorporated throughout the batter.

8. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, and make sure it is spread evenly.

9. Bake the bake for 40-45 minutes, or until the cake tests done. (My cake seemed to bake insanely fast, so by the time 40 minutes rolled around, it was about to burn. Make sure you keep an eye on it.)

10. Let the cake cool in the pan for at least 30 minutes.

Store in an airtight container for up to three days.

*There is a cream cheese frosting to go along with this cake, but I chose to make the cake without it. Not because it doesn’t sound amazingly delicious and perfect for the cake, but because cream cheese did not make it into my weekly grocery budget.

And… DONE.
Leave a Reply

