(Chewy?) Gingersnaps

December 23, 2010

Finally. A break from chocolate peanut butter… for now. My next two recipes are for cookies, even though we’ve all seen our share of them this holiday season.

The second to last co-worker request was not written down, but discussed in passing. I love this girl dearly, and have baked for her many a time in the past. She reminded me of the things she likes, like almondy things and gingerbread. For her last birthday, in fact, I baked her a sweet gingerbread cake with oatmeal stout as a featured ingredient. This sparked a craving on my part for ginger, and I saw that I wrote down a recipe for gingersnaps a few months ago, and never tried it out. There you have it, the (sort of boring) outline of my thought process surrounding the seventh co-worker request.

The recipe is for gingersnaps, but these came out really chewy, and I kind of loved them. Ginger is a delight to bake with because it fills your kitchen and makes my hair smell like gingery baked goods for a few hours afterwards. Surprisingly enough, it’s my most used spice; I feel like I need to buy a new bottle of ground ginger every two months.

Gingersnaps

(Copied from the Cupcake Project)

Ingredients:

2 cups all purpose flour

1 tablespoon ground ginger

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

¾ cup shortening (or ¾ cup unsalted butter at room temperature)

1 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

¼ cup dark molasses (though I just used regular)

Optional: cinnamon sugar for mixing

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Sift together the dry ingredients, excluding the cup of granulated sugar, then whisk or stir mixture to blend everything together evenly.

3. Beat the shortening until creamy.

4. Gradually beat in the granulated sugar.

5. Beat in the egg, then the molasses.

6. Add the flour mixture to the batter in three batches, making sure to stir thoroughly after each addition until a soft dough is formed.

7. Roll balls of dough about one inch in diameter, then roll in cinnamon sugar if you choose, placing each ball about two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

8. Bake in a preheated oven for 9-10 minutes, until tops are rounded and beginning to crack.

9. Cool cookies on the sheet for a few minutes before moving them to a rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

