Breakfast Tuesdays: Waffles and an edition of “Colleen versus the Machine”

January 25, 2011

Breakfast Tuesdays: another bleak morning in beautiful Boston, and another breakfast adventure.

Last holiday season I received a garishly huge Belgian waffle iron and I have not been able to make an entire batch of perfect waffles yet. “Colleen against the machine” is a common phrase I repeat to myself, because machines and I… well… we have issues to work out. It’s a combination of factors, I know, and the main factors impeding my waffle iron victory are my impatience and my inability to read manuals of any kind.  Even after reading every single post from this blog, I’m still shaky.

You've got another thing coming if you think WE are going to waffle for you, Colleen! (This is me on my knees, begging, but to no avail. The batter refuses to waffle.)

Why do I keep trying? I LOVE waffles. Aside from the taste and visual aesthetics, waffles are wonderful to make and freeze, toasting in the oven as needed for breakfast on the go. Weekends at the toy store are very long and very busy, which makes a decent breakfast essential to my being a functioning human being for at least most of the day. It also helps to have frozen waffles in case of a friend-crashing emergency, to make sure they eat something before leaving your humble apartment.

Maybe some day I’ll conquer my fear of instruction manuals, or arrive at the same page as my waffle iron. Maybe. Until that time, though, I’ll make my less-than-perfect waffles and enjoy the heck out of them.

Also, I call these “healthy” because there is whole grain flour involved, but my health advice is dubious at best.

Sorta-Kinda Healthy Waffles

(Recipe adapted from Alton Brown, somewhere in the depths of the Food Network website)

Yields 6 or 7 waffles in a Belgian waffle iron

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour (I used 1 cup graham flour. Yum.)

½ teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons honey or granulated sugar

3 eggs, whisked/beaten until light and foamy

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

2 cups buttermilk

(1 teaspoon vanilla and/or 1 teaspoon cinnamon)

Spray or butter for the waffle iron

Method:

1. Preheat waffle iron.

2. In a bowl large enough for all ingredients, beat whisked eggs and melted butter. Then add the buttermilk and stir to combine.

3. Add all dry ingredients to the wet, and stir to combine. A few lumps are okay, however, this isn’t pancake batter so there shouldn’t be too many huge lumps of unmixed flour. I learned the hard way that large lumps don’t cook into the rest of batter, but congeal and make your waffles spotty.

4. Allow the batter to rest for 5 to 10 minutes.

5. Cook waffles according to manufacturer’s specifications, making sure to grease the waffle iron between each waffle.

6. Serve immediately, or keep them warm in an oven at 175 to 200 degrees F, in a baking pan tented with foil.

I usually keep waffles in an airtight container in the fridge for up to a week, toasting as needed during the week. You could also keep them in an airtight container in the freezer if you don’t plan on using them within the week.

Leave a Reply

