Buttermilk Pudding and a Broken Promise

March 2, 2011

When I started blogging, I promised myself not to post recipes that were just posted on other blogs. In keeping with my promise, I made buttermilk pudding and kept saying to myself, “Resist… urge… to… write… about… buttermilk… pudding…”

You now bear witness to my attempt at keeping promises to myself. How many times do I hear that I am my harshest critic, yet I continually let slide promises I make myself, justifying the poor, fractured promise in any way possible. Here’s some justification for you. I mean, how cool is this recipe?! I loved how it tasted like significantly less healthy yogurt, all tangy and sweet and creamy. I enjoyed my personal ramekin with apricot raspberry preserves, but I am counting down the minutes until I can try it drizzled with chocolate ganache. I resisted the urge to put maraschino cherries on top, but will probably break down and indulge in the embarrassingly delicious red flavored fruit. Proven by this post, you see how well I’m able to restrain myself when it comes down to it.

Buttermilk Pudding

(Recipe found on Vanilla Garlic, also posted on Simply Recipes)

Yields 6 half-cup portions

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons powdered gelatin

2 tablespoons water

1 cup heavy whipping cream

½ cup granulated sugar

½ teaspoon vanilla extract (or one vanilla bean)

2 cups buttermilk

 

Method:

1. In a small bowl, mix powdered gelatin and water. Set aside.

2. Place cream, sugar, and vanilla extract (or whole vanilla bean) in a medium heavy-bottom saucepan over medium heat. Stir until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat.

3. Stir soaked gelatin into cream mixture until gelatin is dissolved.

4. Cool cream mixture to room temperature.

5. Add buttermilk and stir. Strain pudding to catch any bits of rogue gelatin.

6. Pour pudding into ramekins (1/2 cup per ramekin, as this pudding is rich). Cover ramekins and let set for at least 4 hours.

This recipe halves easily, which is important because this pudding won’t keep for very long. If storing in the fridge, make sure pudding is covered, and eat within 2 days.

Leave a Reply

