Breakfast Tuesday: Chocolate Waffles

March 15, 2011

Truth be told, I’ve never separated my eggs while making waffles or pancakes. In fact, I’ve actively avoided the process by picking recipes that don’t require any egg white whipping. At first I assumed it was because I was lazy and didn’t feel like whipping egg whites in the morning (which would be ridiculous, because I’m fortunate enough to have a stand mixer that could do all the work for me), but remembered that I enjoy whipping cream by hand, so what’s the deal? After an embarrassing amount of time, I realized it was my fear of egg whites that paralyzed me into ignorance. Why are egg whites so darn intimidating?

I’m working my way towards conquering this irrational avoidance of whipped egg whites because they really do wonders for baked goods, making magical melt in your mouth textures and beautifully risen goods. This Breakfast Tuesday I’m helping my cause by making chocolate waffles, something I’ve wanted to do since my interest in baking came to light two-ish years ago. Whipping egg whites is kind of a process, yes, but relatively speaking it’s not as time consuming as you think, kind of fun, and the whites are really easy to work with once you get the hang of folding them into batter. That last step took me about a year to master. Don’t ask. I’m still in the dark as to why my brain blocked proper folding technique for so long.

Side note: You might see more waffle posts than normal in the next few weeks. I’m trying to find a fun waffle recipe, worthy of being put into a small collection of breakfast recipes. Periodically I put together recipes and make little booklets to give my friends/family/whoever wants one, and the next one has a breakfast theme. If you know any great waffle or pancake recipes, please share! I’m open to just about anything in terms of breakfast food.

Chocolate Waffles

(Recipe adapted from Waffleizer)

Yields 5 waffles in a Belgian waffle maker, using heaping ½ cups batter

Ingredients:

2 eggs, whites and yolks separated

1 ½ cup milk (recipe suggests whole, but I used a combination buttermilk and 1%, adding ½ teaspoon baking soda to neutralize some of the acid from the buttermilk)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

2 tablespoons brown sugar

 

Method:

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine egg yolks, milk, baking powder, flour, cocoa powder and melted butter. Stir until almost smooth.

2. Preheat waffle iron.

3. In a separate mixing bowl, whip egg whites until stiff peaks form. Add brown sugar and whip until stiff peaks form (again).

4. Gently fold egg white mixture into chocolate batter, until no egg white streaks remain.

5. Make waffles according to your waffle iron manufacturer’s instructions.

Waffles keep in fridge up to a week and freeze up to two months, both in airtight containers or wrapped in plastic wrap. To reheat, toast in oven around 400 degrees until brown and toasty, less than 10 minutes.

Leave a Reply

