Variety Flour… Friday Morning: Honeybucks

March 18, 2011

Back to normal schedule, hah! This week I’m shaking it up and making this post a “Variety Flour Friday Morning” instead of “Variety Flour Thursday”. My only consolation is that at least you at least get differently floured baked deliciousness this week, even if it is a wee late.

I wrote down the recipe for honeybucks a good year ago, and haven’t made it for many reasons. Not everyone shares my love for buckwheat flour, or my intense love of/obsession with honey, but sometimes you have to do things for yourself, like bake a recipe you’ve been curious about for a long time running regardless of possible audience opinion. And, honestly, people have been surprising me with their reactions. Honeybucks aren’t very pretty but the earthy, strong buckwheat flavor grabs the taste of honey by the hand, and they seem to skip merrily into the hearts of others. That’s a long, silly way of saying people like them just as much as I do.

As noted in the recipe itself, I subbed spelt flour for all-purpose; I read that you can usually substitute spelt for all-purpose without changing the result. Mine turned out less fluffy and more like a chewy cookie, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing! When talking about them yesterday, my friends mentioned honeybucks might make an interesting base for something else, like a raspberry jam or part of a layered bar concoction. My first instinct was to disagree because the buckwheat and honey are strong flavors, but the more I think, the more I like the idea of being creative with it!

Honeybucks

(Recipe adapted from Vanilla Garlic)

Yields one 8 inch square pan or 9 inch round cake pan

 

Ingredients:

½ cup butter, melted

¼ cup light brown sugar

½ cup sugar

¼ cup honey

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon baking powder

¾ cup all purpose flour (I subbed spelt flour and had to add a good 9 minutes after the 20 minute mark)

¼ cup buckwheat flour

(pinch of ground nutmeg, if you’re in the mood or market for something spiced)

 

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and lightly flour an 8 inch square pan or 9 inch round cake pan.

2. In a medium bowl, large enough for all ingredients, whisk butter, all sugars, and honey until well combined.

3. Whisk in egg and vanilla until well combined.

4. In a separate bowl, whisk flours, salt, and baking powder.

5. Add flour mixture to butter mixture all at once and stir until just combined.

6. Pour into prepared pan and even out the batter in pan.

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until they test done, with a cake tester coming out slightly moist with few crumbs. It may look burned, so go by cake tester and smell. Mine took almost 30 minutes (because I subbed spelt flour?), and I could tell it wasn’t done because the center was not set.

8. Cool in pan on wire cooling rack. Honeybucks rise in the oven and fall while cooling. Don’t be alarmed.

Store bars in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days. I’m going to try freezing a few for up to a month – I’m sure they will be fine.


Leave a Reply

