Variety Flour Thursday: Oatmeal Pancakes with Oat Flour

March 24, 2011

We all have foods that we consider our comfort food, the refuge we have when the world around us keeps changing and throwing us for loop after loop after loop, ad infinitum. You’ve seen two of my major comfort foods this week, chocolate chip cookies and grilled cheese, and now you’ll see my favorite comfort food, pancakes. When something big is going on, you can bet your bottom I’m either thinking about pancakes or eating pancakes. This is why, instead of a baked good on Variety Flour Thursday, you are getting a recipe for pancakes. (Sometimes I think that I just should have started a pancake blog, because of all the pancake recipes thrown in here. But if I ate pancakes all the time, where would I go when I needed a meal to make me feel warm and safe?)

Today I’m baking with oat flour for the first time, which is yet another reason why you are seeing pancakes today. Pancakes have the remarkable ability to take on any sort of flour you thrown at (in?) it, helping you understand flavors and how the flour itself bakes up. I wasn’t going to post this recipe and just use it as a trial run and a way to fulfill my pancake craving, but was really impressed with everything about the final product. Cooked oatmeal makes the pancakes denser than normal, but keeps them most and gives you a neat, chewy texture that you’re not accustomed to with pancakes.

I didn’t mess around with the recipe, being the first time I’m using oat flour, except for my carelessness in adding equal amounts oat flour and all purpose. To make up for it, I added two tablespoons milk and crossed my fingers. Luckily for me, the pancakes still turned out amazing; just what I needed today.

Oatmeal Pancakes

(Recipe adapted from Good to the Grain)

The book says recipe yields 18 pancakes; however mine yielded 14 using a ¼ cup ice cream scoop.

Ingredients:

¾ cup oat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons granulated or light brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

¾ teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

1 ¼ cups milk (recipe calls for whole but 1% worked)

1 cup cooked oatmeal

1 tablespoon molasses, preferably not blackstrap

2 eggs

Butter for greasing skillet

Method:

1. If using a cast iron skillet, preheat over medium heat. In a large bowl, whisk dry ingredients.

2. In a separate, medium bowl, whisk together melted butter, milk, oatmeal, molasses, and eggs until completely combined.

3. Gently fold wet ingredients into dry, taking care not to over mix but making sure there aren’t any hug flour streaks.

4. When skillet is preheated, coat bottom with butter (half a tablespoon, thereabouts) and scoop batter into skillet using a ¼ cup measuring cup, ice cream scoop, or ¼ cup guess-timation.

5. Once bubbles have formed on top side of pancake and batter looks a little dry around the edges, 3 to 4 minutes, flip pancakes. Cook pancakes until golden brown on bottoms, about another 5 minutes, and make sure to grease pan with extra butter when necessary.

It is recommended you serve these pancakes immediately, however I usually store pancakes refrigerated in an air tight container up to 3 days. To reheat, I wrap them up in tin foil and heat them in the oven. The quality of pancake decreases with each passing day, but I’m not all that picky, especially when it comes to having an easy, homemade breakfast to go before work.

Leave a Reply

