Breakfast Tuesday: Carrot Spice Muffins

May 10, 2011

I just spent the better part of a half hour trying to come up with a cute little rhyme for these muffins. Something with the words “spice” and “nice”. Then I got to the “carrot” part and had a hard time coming up with anything to tie the whole rhyme together. Threw me for a loop, that crazy word. It’s times like these I wish I had a rhyming dictionary on hand to aid me in my food-poetry endeavors.

Why was I trying to come with a rhyme? Good and relevant question! When I started thinking about what I would make for Breakfast Tuesday this week, my mind was overflowing with all those things life puts on your plate and you wait until the last minute to address. I wanted to do something kinda-sorta different but didn’t have the mental wherewithal to handle it. In moments like these I tend to turn off my brain and let my gut guide my decision (not really a bad way to handle things sometimes; I’m usually surprised by the truth in gut instinct). My gut instinct this morning was carrot cake. Not quite seasonal, surely, but making baked-carrot-anything usually makes me ridiculously happy on account all the colors and fun ingredients.

So I made the carrot spice muffins and sat down with a cup of tea and my happiness and contentment led me here, trying to come up with a poem to commemorate these feelings. I’ll get back to you on the poem, but hopefully the recipe will be enough for you to create your own happy-morning rhyme! Carrot Spice Muffins

(Recipe adapted from Baking, From my Home to Yours)

Notes: Recipe calls for whole milk, but I didn’t have whole milk on hand, only some 1 % and some sour cream. I ended up using half ¾ cup sour cream and the other half of the milk measure using 1%, and the muffins came out well, if not just the tiniest bit richer than if I had used whole milk. I also omitted the coconut simply because I did not have any in the pantry and upped the amount of raisins by a few tablespoons.

Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

½ cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 ½ teaspoons ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon ground ginger

¼ teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

2/3 cup canola oil

2 eggs

¾ cup whole milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup shredded carrots

½ cup shredded, sweetened coconut

1/3 cup currants or raisins

1/3 cup chopped pecans or walnuts, toasted and cooled

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and prepare a muffin tin by lining cups with cupcake papers, spraying with flavorless cooking spray, or buttering generously.

2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, spices, baking soda, and salt. Whisk in brown sugar until there are no lumps.

3. In a medium bowl or glass measuring cup, whisk oil, eggs, milk, and vanilla until well combined.

4. Pour liquid ingredients over dry ingredients and stir just to blend, taking care not to over mix the batter. A few lumps are a-okay.

5. Stir in carrot, coconut, currants/raisins, and nuts.

6. Divide batter evenly between cups. (I used a generous ¼ cup measure.)

7. Bake muffins in preheated oven for 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Transfer pan to a cooling rack and cool muffins almost completely before removing them from tin.

Muffins are usually best within an hour of baking, but can be kept in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a day.

Leave a Reply

