Breakfast Tuesday: Raised Waffles (Vegan)

May 17, 2011

This is the saddest Breakfast Tuesday ever. Was that a “Why, Colleen?” I heard, way in the back of the peanut gallery, behind the giggling and pointing? You may not have asked, but I will tell you. I completely and utterly butchered a recipe that I not only adore, by a cook/baker/food-mastermind that I admire, but have also made at least three times before with great success.

Why do these things happen? I’ll give you my reasoning, and then I’ll give you permission to look at me like I’m a crazy person. I had a case of extreme indecision this morning. Muffin recipes sounded amazing, but I just made muffins for last week’s Breakfast Tuesday. I wasn’t hungry enough to make pancakes, or motivated enough to make scones. I didn’t want chocolate and didn’t want fruit (I know, it surprised the living daylights out of me as well). My own acting like a cranky toddler without the benefit of being all cute and young and tiny made me a little frustrated. Why can’t I choose something amongst the vast store of recipes and ingredients at my disposal? Out of something that felt like a mixture between defeat and apathy, I decided to make a waffle that hasn’t let me down in the past. I knew I’d be satisfied with the results and knew that it’d be a great recipe to share with the people who read this blog, who deserve amazing, consistent recipes.

I might be wrong, but I feel like going into things with this attitude, that of total surrender and frustration, made my waffles turn out badly. You tend to make careless mistakes when you think things will just go according to plan without your having to be a part of it. For instance, you can’t just leave a waffle in the iron for minutes and minutes and minutes and assume that it won’t be burnt to a crisp because your waffles had never burnt to a crisp before.

I leave you with the recipe, which is awesome and a different take on a popular breakfast baked good, and the hope that your Tuesday morning breakfast was more successful than my own!

Raised Waffles

(Recipe adapted from Vegan Brunch)

Yields 6 Belgian style waffles

Ingredients:

2 cups warm milk (non-dairy for vegan waffles)

2 teaspoons dry active yeast

¼ granulated sugar

1/3 cup oil (I use canola, but any flavorless oil will work)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

½ cup warm water (not over 105 degrees F)

¾ teaspoon salt

Cooking spray for waffle iron

Method:

1. In a large glass, plastic, or ceramic mixing bowl, pour in milk and sprinkle yeast over milk. Let sit for 5 minutes in order for yeast to dissolve.

2. After 5 minutes stir in sugar, oil, and vanilla. Stir in flour until batter is relatively smooth, though a few lumps are okay. Add water to activate the yeast and stir just until incorporated.

For the third step, you can choose your own adventure!

(First option) 3. Cover bowl with a damp cloth and let batter rise in a warm spot for an hour.

(Second option) 3. Uncovered, let batter rise at room temperature for 30 minutes and then place bowl in refrigerator to let batter sit overnight.

4. Preheat waffle iron to a higher setting than usual. These particular waffles are amazing with a more crispy exterior. Cook waffles according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Serve waffles immediately, or freeze, up to a month, and toast as needed.

 

Leave a Reply

