Breakfast Tuesday: Apricot Bran Smoothie

June 7, 2011

A few moons ago I “saw” this guy (“Saw” in quotation marks because “dating” seems to have acquired a super serious connotation, meaning that if you are dating someone it appears to be more serious than if you’re just seeing someone. Don’t ask me, I’m just trying to keep up with the crazy relationship terminology circulating amongst young people.) who had a borderline unhealthy obsession with peanut butter. When we had breakfast together, his breakfast was always at least a quarter peanut butter. Dessert? Peanut butter generally had to be involved. I found it really endearing because, c’mon, who doesn’t love a person who appreciates and adores peanut butter? The point of this personal anecdote is that his obsession with peanut butter kind of rubbed off on me, and I found myself eating a god-awful amount of it, for breakfast, lunch, snack, you name it, smeared all over any baked good that came into my path.

When choosing what to make for breakfast Tuesday, I examined my breakfasts over the past week or so and realized that everything I had was smothered in peanut butter. This is where I put my foot down and attempt to step away from the peanut butter jar, and even the oven, at least for one morning.

I’m not accustomed to having just a smoothie for breakfast, seeing as it’s my biggest and favoritest meal of the day, but this smoothie is really filling, thanks to the oat bran, I think. It makes me want to experiment more, and make more smoothies, especially now that the farmer’s markets are opening/on the brink of opening around Boston and fresh fruit will be in abundance (finally!). I didn’t finish the rest of the smoothie, so I filled a popsicle mold with the remaining liquid. Yay for icy treats later today!

Apricot Bran Smoothie

Yields 2 ½ cups smoothie

Notes: Smoothie recipes are ripe for change according to your personal preferences. I like my smoothies fairly thick, but if you prefer a more liquid-y smoothie, reduce the yogurt to ½ cup and add an extra half-cup to cup of milk. If you want to add half a banana, go for it. More oat bran or honey? You have the power.

Ingredients:

½ cup dried apricots, chopped

1 6 oz container, about ¾ cup, yogurt, either plain or apricot

1 cup milk

1-2 tablespoons oat bran

1-2 tablespoons honey

Method:

1. Pour 1 cup water over chopped apricot and let soak for at least an hour, or overnight, until apricots are all plump and juicy. Drain.

2. Stir together apricots, yogurt, milk, oat bran, and honey, or just add them all together in a food processor.

3. Blend all ingredients until smooth.

Serve immediately. I found that if you put the blended mixture in the fridge for 15 minutes, the bran is able to soak up more of the milk and it’s pretty darn yummy.

Leave a Reply

