Breakfast Tuesday: Oat Bran Waffles

June 14, 2011

I would like to take this Breakfast Tuesday opportunity to shower affection on something special, something very new in my life, something tasty. I’m talking to you, oat bran. Originally, I had just wanted some oat bran to make these pancakes. When I got to the store, however, all they had was a HUGE bag of the stuff. The pancakes were too much to pass up and I thought I’d find something to do with the rest of the oat bran (figuring that I’d just throw it in the freezer and forget about it). The pancakes were made, and I enjoyed them. The next morning, I threw some oat bran on yogurt with fresh fruit. The next morning, I put oat bran on some frozen waffles with peanut butter and maple syrup. Last Breakfast Tuesday I managed to put oat bran into a smoothie. The last few recipes I bookmarked are for cookies made with oat bran. Ramble Ramble. The point is that I think about oat bran all the time and can’t believe I’ve never had it in my life before in such a prominent, albeit obsessive, way.

And usually if I’m this obsessed with an ingredient I’ll find a way to put it in a waffle. Or find a recipe that puts the ingredient in a waffle. Well, here you have it, the oat bran waffle! I was a little worried upon putting the batter together because it didn’t seem to be thick enough, but went ahead with the recipe anyway. I can always tweak the recipe later. Sure enough, the waffles cooked beautifully and I really like that they aren’t dense and chewy, more crisp and airy. The oat bran lent the waffle a wonderful hearty flavor without making the waffle feel like a brick. And you might also be able to convince yourself these waffles are healthy. Until you load it up with homemade blueberry jam and greek yogurt, that is.

Oat Bran Waffles

(Recipe adapted from Rogers Foods)

Yields 4 to 5 Belgian-size waffles using 1 cup batter per waffle

 

Ingredients:

¾ cup all-purpose flour (I will use 1 cup the next time I make these waffles)

2/3 cup oat bran

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 ¼ cup milk

¼ cup vegetable or canola oil (I assume you could also use ¼ cup unsalted butter, melted)

2 egg yolks, beaten

2 egg whites, beaten until stiff but not dry

 

Method:

1. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, oat bran, baking powder, and brown sugar.

2. In a medium mixing bowl or liquid measuring cup, combine milk, egg yolks, and vegetable oil.

3. Pour milk mixture into dry mixture and mix just until combined.

4. Fold egg whites into batter.

5. Let batter rest while waffle iron preheats to a medium or medium-high temperature, depending on how hot your waffle maker can get.

6. Greasing waffle iron between each waffle, pour batter onto waffle using a one cup measure. Cook according to manufacturer’s instructions (about 5 minutes per waffle).

Serve immediately or freeze, once cooled to room temperature, to enjoy whenever a waffle craving hits you.

Leave a Reply

