Breakfast Tuesday: Baked Strawberries

June 21, 2011

Seems like just yesterday when I was ranting and raving about how hard schedules are for me, and how I need to always keep in mind that the reason behind my blogging is the fun-factor and not the need to have constant pressure applied to my life in areas that are normally relaxing. Oh, right, it was JUST yesterday that I declared the end of Variety Flour Thursday and a return to baking as the cathartic and wonderful activity it once was. Even after all these epiphanies and vows and admissions, come Tuesday morning I’m putzing around my kitchen, rummaging through ingredients, not feeling like making anything at all, and thinking, “What the heck am I going to make for breakfast this morning?! It’s Breakfast Tuesday and I have zero plans! Help!”

I remembered the pint of strawberries in my fridge and, lacking any sort of motivation whatsoever, typed “strawberries” and “breakfast” into the google machine. Lo and behold! A recipe for baked strawberries! I’ve never even heard of such a thing! Look! There are hardly any steps at all! The author of the recipe recommends making this dish at the end of summer, or when your strawberries are on their last legs, languishing in your fridge, but I had to try it out. If you are able to get the strawberries into a pan without eating them first, I’d give these guys a go.

I realize that baked strawberries lend themselves to dessert-type dishes, but I felt like you could eat them with most breakfast foods as well, such as pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, etc. And I was right. Not only was Breakfast Tuesday accomplished, but Tuesday dessert as well! The longer you let the strawberries cool after coming out of the oven, the more syrupy the strawberries become, and I can’t wait to try the syrup over ice cream, or milk, or really any sort of delicious dairy product that comes my way!

Baked Strawberries

(Recipe adapted from A Life (Time) of Cooking)

 

Ingredients:

1 pint of strawberries – they don’t have to be hulled if you prefer not to do so

¼ cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon dried lavender flowers (optional)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. If hulling strawberries, do so, then place them in a single layer in a flat-bottom glass/pyrex baking dish.

3. Sprinkle sugar and lavender over strawberries.

4. Bake strawberries for 30 minutes.

Note: The strawberry syrupy goodness thickens the longer you let the strawberries cool. By the time my strawberries came to room temperature, I had a nice strawberry syrup that I can’t wait try with all sorts of things… or mainly ice cream.

Store extra strawberries refrigerated in an airtight container up to a week (that is just a guess, judging how long my homemade preserves last in the fridge, and I tend to gobble jam up pretty quickly).

 

One Response to “Breakfast Tuesday: Baked Strawberries”


  1. […] added the equivalent measure of strawberry syrup from these baked strawberries, made last week. Can’t wait to try this frosting with fresh, pureed fruit, […]


Leave a Reply

