Fourth of July means Coconut Almond Pancakes, Right?

July 5, 2011

Happy belated Fourth of July! I tried my best to muster energy enough to research some sort of patriotic red-white-blue crazy concoction of a dessert but couldn’t manage it in the end. I tried to justify my lack of research by thinking that pancakes were just as patriotic as they come, and then the idea was thwarted by the fact that pancakes are not really an epitome of American cuisine – Swedish pancakes, anyone? Dutch pancakes? Crepes? Looks like I’ll have to find a different reason to make pancakes as an Independence Day treat.

Wait a minute! Did I really just write a short paragraph about needing to justify the making and eating of pancakes?! Who am I? When have I ever needed a reason? Psh, holiday, schmoliday and research, schmesearch. I really wanted to spend the day doing the things I enjoy most and leisurely making pancakes is one of my favoritest things in the world. I was able to try a new recipe using an ingredient I don’t normally think to use in pancakes (almond meal), to practice my flipping, to hone internal-pancake-browning timer, and, last but definitely not least, to eat copious amounts of sweetened coconut and almonds enclosed in a pancake. No part of this breakfast was very patriotic or American, but I heartily enjoyed every minute of it, thinking it was the best way I could think of to celebrate a birthday – in this case, America’s birthday.

I hope everyone had an awesome Fourth! Did you eat anything especially yummy or interesting? I’d love to hear about it!

Coconut Almond Pancakes

(Recipe adapted from The Nesting Project)

Yields 9 to 10 pancakes

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

¼ cup almond meal

1 teaspoon baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup milk with 1 tablespoon vinegar)

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Optional: 1 heaping tablespoon yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ teaspoon almond extract

1 cup sweetened coconut (if using unsweetened coconut, add extra sugar to batter)

Method:

1. If using a cast-iron skillet, preheat over medium heat. If desired, preheat oven to 200 degrees F and line a baking sheet with foil – to keep pancakes warm after taking off the skillet and before serving.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, almond meal, baking powder, and salt.

3. In a medium-size mixing bowl, whisk together egg, buttermilk, sugar, yogurt (if using), vanilla and almond extracts until frothy.

4. Fold wet ingredients into dry, mixing until just combined. Fold in coconut just until distributed evenly throughout batter.

5. Grease skillet and drop pancakes by the ¼ cupful, cooking 3 to 5 minutes (until bubbles form and edges look slightly dry) and flipping, then continuing to cook for another 2 to 3 minutes, until browned.

I’d recommend serving the pancakes as soon as possible, however, I tend to keep them refrigerated in a tupperware container up to 3 days, heating them up for breakfast on the go.

Leave a Reply

