Back to Blogging: Cream Scones with Chocolate and Fresh Mint

July 13, 2011

Back on the blogging bandwagon! Woo! If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you’ve already figured out that I am an excuse MACHINE. I could try to justify my week long absence by proffering excuses until you put your foot down and scream, No more! Please! Spare me! Luckily I know, because you’ve all lived in the world and continue to do so, that you understand how some weeks are, how your mind switches to autopilot in order to get everything done. I’ve missed being in the kitchen and I’ve missed writing about my baketivities. Now my schedule is finally normalizing and I can go back to doing what I love best – leisurely AM baking.

In order to keep to blog-schedule, I tried to make breakfast yesterday (for Breakfast Tuesday) and it was the most epic of fails. I don’t think it was the recipe, because it seemed to be pretty solid, so it must have been me, and more specifically my state of mind. This morning, to make up for my Breakfast Tuesday mishap, I wanted to do something breakfast-y but also something quick, as my Wednesdays meaning going into work a little earlier than normal. I remembered reading quite a bit about scones since my last attempt, about how the actual putting together of scone dough should not take more than five minutes. I also read in many, MANY places that using your hands is the best (and only?) way to get the best texture. I haven’t made many scones in my life – due to fear and ignorance – and now that I’m back in the baking game maybe I’ll give it another go?

Not to toot my own horn or anything… but the scones were amazing. Tender and light on the inside and crispy on the outside, studded with chunks of chocolate and flecked with fresh, green mint from my roommate’s deck garden. I might be a believer of the hands-only method to scone making. Time will tell. The only thing I would do differently next time is up the mint. The mint got a little overwhelmed by the chocolate and the cream. Other than that, I’m quite content, sitting here, eating freshly baked chocolate scones and writing to you!

Cream Scones with Chocolate Chunks and Mint

(Recipe adapted from Epicurious, originally Lemon Cream Scones)

Yields 12 scones

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

¼ cup granulated sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 ¼ cup whipping cream

heaping 1 cup chopped dark chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 teaspoons shredded fresh mint

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F and prepare baking sheets by lining with parchment paper. Lightly flour a clean work surface.

2. In a large bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Add chocolate chunks and mint and mix until even dispersed through flour mixture.

3. Add cream to flour mixture and, with your hands (recommended!) or wooden spoon, mix just until combined. This step should not take more than 20 seconds; there will be chunks of flour and extra wet batter, that’s okay.

4. Turn dough out onto prepared floured surface and knead dough just until it comes together, 4 or 5 times. Pat dough into a wedge ½ to ¾ inch thick and cut into 12 wedges.

5. Place wedges on prepared baking sheet about 1 ½ to 2 inches apart and bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, until lightly golden on top.

6. Let scones cool on baking sheet for 5 to 10 minutes before removing to a cooling rack to cool until room temperature, or, if you’re impatient like me, until cool enough to eat.

If desired, you can freeze the unbaked scone wedges and bake as needed, adding 3 or 4 minutes to the original baking time. Scones are at there best the day they are made, so I usually bake one or two and freeze the rest for another day!

Leave a Reply

