Breakfast Tuesday: “It’s not me, it’s you” and Yogurt Waffles

July 19, 2011

For whatever reason, I like to pride myself in my waffle-making abilities (read: I feel super awesome when I use my waffle maker because it’s fun and makes pretty foodstuffs for me to eat). This pride makes it really difficult for me to deal when I make waffles and it fails. I can’t help thinking that it has something to do with my internal waffle-making intelligence, like my waffles didn’t turn out because I didn’t will them hard enough. Over all these months of making waffles, I didn’t once think that maybe it wasn’t me but was the machine that caused most of my waffle making-induced suffering. In general I try to shy away from blaming machines with the mentality that blaming a machine can’t really do anything to improve your finished product; all that’s left for you to do is research methods to change a recipe or try a different one altogether.

This morning I experienced a particularly annoying waffle-fail and, instead of taking my usual passive route of shrugging and assuming it’s either the recipe or me, I went straight to the computer, angry and hungry, to see if maybe it actually was the waffle maker. The past few times I’ve tried to make waffles have not turned out well – I took this as supporting evidence in my questioning as to whether or not the waffle-maker is to blame. After ten minutes of reading, folks, I came to the conclusion that it must be the machine. The heat is uneven and my waffles are splitting in half while almost burning (even when the heat is adjusted). It was a good lesson for me to learn though, that when using a kitchen appliance like this you have to take it into account – especially when the recipe seems pretty solid but your finished product is just a pile of waffle. 

The only waffle that ended up looking like a waffle and not a pile of waffle carnage.

Yogurt Waffles

(Recipe adapted from Two Peas and their Pod, originally Honey Yogurt Waffles)

Yields 8 to 10 waffles in a Belgian waffle iron

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

½ cup all purpose flour

¼ cup rolled oats (or old-fashioned)

2 teaspoons baking powder

¼ teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of ground cinnamon

Pinch of salt

1 ¼ cups milk

¾ cup Greek yogurt, plain

1/3 cup maple syrup, maple syrup blend, or honey

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

Method:

1. Preheat waffle iron on medium-high setting.

2. In a large mixing bowl, add flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Whisk until combined.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together milk, yogurt, syrup, eggs, and vanilla extract, until smooth – there shouldn’t be any yogurt lumps.

4. Add liquid ingredients to dry and whisk until just combined. Fold in melted butter until just combined.

5. Grease waffle iron and bake each waffle according to manufacturer’s instructions (until waffle is golden brown).

Serve immediately or freeze up to a month, heating up each waffle individually as needed. While baking waffles, if you want to keep them warm before serving, preheat oven to 200 degrees F and line a baking sheet with foil. Store waffles in oven, on baking sheet, in between making each waffle and before serving.

Leave a Reply

