Breakfast Tuesday: Speculoos Pancakes

July 26, 2011

If you know me, or have been reading this blog, you already know planning skills leave much to be desired. It was 5:30 pm, time for dinner, and I was not only far from my kitchen but sans any sort of packed dinner option. Trolling around the grocery store, clutching five dollars and hoping for a dinner miracle, I decided to take a gander at the jams and nut butters. I might be the only person who loves going down this aisle every time I’m in the grocery store just to look at all the stacked jars and pretty fruit colors. I leave off this little bit of crazy, though, because a miracle DOES end up happening, in the form of spreadable Speculoos cookies. So now I’m walking towards the check-out counter, clutching a five dollar bill and clutching, white knuckles and all, a jar of Biscoff spread. Dinner? No. I needed the jar of Biscoff spread.

You see, I’ve been reading about this stuff for ages, and have loved flying Delta just to get my hands on some of these magical cookies. Then my favoritest guys at Baked come out with a cookbook containing a recipe for Speculaas cookies. Then Trader Joe’s comes out with their version of this delicious spice cookie. Then David Lebowitz blogs about Biscoff spread. Spread?! I was seeing Biscoff cookies in my sleep, thinking about crumbling them and putting them in crusts and other cookies and pudding, dreaming about the possibility of spreadable cookies. For all this thinking and dreaming and yearning, though, I never got around to making it myself. It’s one of those recipes that I’ve been saving for a special occasion, though you know it goes that those are the recipes you forget you have, or just forget about completely.

Back to the grocery store, I’m trying to contain myself, only dancing a little bit and squealing under my breath. Finally! I get to see what all the fuss is about! The jar didn’t even make it home before I opened it and had my first taste. Good gravy, people. This stuff is incredible, not nearly as rich as I feared it might be, or as sweet as I thought it could be, just perfect, really. I can’t see it replacing peanut butter, but it doesn’t have to. Biscoff spread earns its right to exist completely on its own, just like nutella, in the holy-batman-delicious-spread category. And, as usual, when I’m this excited about a new ingredient I have to break it in by putting it in a pancake.

I tweaked a recipe for peanut butter pancakes, which I have tried and loved, making it a perfect vehicle for my new kitchen ingredient friend. My favorite part about these pancakes is that they weren’t too sweet, too rich, or too anything, a perfect balance of Speculoos cookie and pancake.

Speculoos Pancakes

(Recipe adapted from the wonderful Crepes of Wrath, originally Peanut Butter Pancakes)

Yields 9-10 pancakes using a ¼ cup measure

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup and 3 tablespoons milk (if batter needs thinning, add extra milk to reach desired consistency)

½ cup Speculoos Spread (homemade or Biscoff), melted and cooled slightly

2 tablespoons vegetable, almond, or canola oil

Butter to grease skillet

Method:

1. If using cast iron, preheat skillet over medium heat.

2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a separate mixing bowl, whisk together milk, speculoos spread, and oil.

4. Add wet ingredients to dry and whisk batter until most lumps disappear.

5. Grease skillet with a light film of butter and, using a ¼ cup measure, drop batter into skillet. Cook pancake until bubbles appear, 3 to 5 minutes, then flipping and continuing to cook for another 3 to 5 minutes, until pancake is browned on both sides.

Serve immediately. You can keep pancakes refrigerated up to 2 days, heating as you go, but they are definitely best the day they are made.

Leave a Reply

