(Fresh) Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

August 11, 2011

Bwahaha. I’m the fresh mint monster! Adding it to any and everything! No one can stop me! Cue Calvin and Hobbes-esque illustration of curly-haired girl-giant (in a pink apron, of course) clutching enormous sprigs of mint, reeking havoc on whatever baked good falls in her path. Now we have that out of the way – the image has been floating around in my head all day – I can tell you what this is all about, just in case you haven’t been following! One of my roommates is trying her hand at urban gardening, which translates to “Colleen has, at her disposal, an ENTIRE mint plant and an ENTIRE basil plant, not to mention a cherry tomato plant that has served her very well this summer” and means that I’ve been trying to incorporate fresh mint into as much as I can. I made scones and cake earlier in the summer, and it was really just a matter of time before I found a way to weasel mint into cookies. And not just cookies, mind you, but one of my favorite desserts: chocolate chip cookies!

I found a fantastic recipe for chocolate chip cookies with fresh mint, but, as usual, ended up thinking about it too much for my own good. Chocolate and mint always strikes me as a wintry recipe, meant for rich, flourless gateaux or sugar-shimmery holiday cookies. Even though summer is full of amazing flavors that are only here for a short time (I’ll miss you, peaches! And you too, apricots!), I find myself having crazy fall and winter cravings, especially for the mint-chocolate combination. Maybe it’s a function of living in New England for too long; I just can’t handle too much summer? Does anyone else in the Northeast US feel this way? I didn’t think so, but it was worth a shot.

Regardless, I’m still stuck with these cravings. Thinking about the cookie recipe, it might be the perfect way to not only make chocolate mint feel summery, but also take advantage of the fresh mint growing on my deck in fresh-mint-monster fashion. Chocolate chip cookies are a dessert free from seasonal boundaries and are extraordinarily adaptable. The addition of fresh mint livens up the cookie and complements the chocolate so perfectly you’ll find yourself almost hoping that your next chocolate chip cookie will have fresh mint in it, too. I, personally, am kicking myself for not having tried it sooner!

(Fresh) Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Recipe adapted from Montcarte

Yields 24 to 26 cookies (about 1 ½ tablespoon dough per cookie)

Note: The original recipe suggests baking the cookies for 9 minutes if you prefer them chewy, however, when I tried baking a sheet for 9 minutes the cookies didn’t hold together at all. That’s the only real issue I had with the recipe, otherwise it’s copied here almost exactly from Montcarte.

Ingredients:

½ cup, or 1 stick, unsalted butter, room temperature

½ cup light brown sugar, firmly packed

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ cup all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon baking soda

1 cup dark chocolate, chopped, or chocolate chips

¼ cup fresh mint leaves, chopped

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Cream butter and sugars until fluffy.

3. Add egg and vanilla, and beat until smooth.

4. Add flour, salt, and baking soda to wet ingredients. Stir just to combine.

5. Fold in chopped chocolate and mint just until evenly distributed throughout dough.

6. Roll dough into 1 ½ tablespoon size balls, or use a cookie scoop, and then place at least 1 ½ inches apart on prepared baking sheets.

7. Bake each sheet in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes.

3 Responses to “(Fresh) Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. I must have felt this mint chocolate vibe before even reading your post! I’m experimenting with non-dairy right now for health reasons, and went to the natural foods co-op today for some good non-dairy options. I came back with a few interesting desserts, including a dark chocolate bar with peppermint extract, and a rice milk based ice cream-mint & carob chip. I’m sure they won’t live up to those amazing cookies, but will suffice for now 🙂


    • Haha, maybe it’s just something going around? I hope everything is okay! What brand is the chocolate bar with peppermint extract? I’m always interested in chocolate that doesn’t err on the side of in-your-face dairy. And rice milk ice sounds great – I know the texture sometimes gets to me when served plain, but ice cream is a different story!


      • Maybe it’s just that mint & chocolate is one of my favorite combinations too 🙂 The ice cream is fantastic! I even like the carob chips, they have a really interesting chewy quality that is addictive. The chocolate bar is Chocolove. It’s not the best, but still pretty good. Any of the dark chocolates should be low/non-dairy. I’m fine, just trying an anti-inflammatory diet to try and get rid of my eczema. The docs just say it’s chronic and won’t do anything other than offer steroid creams, but surely something is causing it!


Leave a Reply

