Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake, or “Please don’t mind my about-to-move rant”

August 19, 2011

You know what I hate most about the moving process? The moving process. Yes, all of it. It seems like every life skill in which I’m deficient is nicely rolled into one long, boring process. Organization? I know where everything is, thank you, I certainly don’t need to confine myself to one single system. I’ll totally remember what’s in this box when I unpack it, don’t insult me. Oh, I have to pack the box before getting defensive? Well, that’ll be a problem, I’m the queen of not only procrastinating but also coming up with excuses that seem to justify said procrastination. For example: That box doesn’t need to be packed now, for goodness sake, I have a whole ten days! Spelled out, it doesn’t seem convincing, but I’m easily manipulated, even if I’m the one in charge of manipulating… myself? Finally, I have a mental block when it comes to tasks that, once done, have to be undone in a matter of days. Cue reader eye rolls and the utterances of ‘quit yer complainin and DO IT ALREADY.”

Time for a little perspective, just to make sure I keep in mind why moving is important and why the process will be more than worth it. I’m so lucky to be moving into a beautiful new apartment with one of my closest friends. This coming year will be all kinds of awesome if only because we’ll be looking out for each other. She’s helping me move in little by little, knowing that help will be scarce come moving day, because she cares about me and that, well, I could think of all the negative things concerning moving and they wouldn’t even come close to the feeling that someone cares enough about you to go out of their way to help. I’ll definitely miss my one roommate but take great comfort in the fact that she and I will always be friends, no matter where life takes us. She is, after all, my hetero life-mate. She’s stuck with me. (You hear that?! No escape!)

Now that I have some perspective and my excitement is gaining momentum, I need some delicious, sugar-laden comfort food. Something a little like cookie cake. Yeah, that hits the spot. I’ve made this a few times over the past year and loved it every single time, sticking to the original recipe or, in this case, adding some ingredients I want to use up before moving. Check out the peanut butter chocolate chip cookie cake, too!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

(Recipe adapted from Lemonpi)

Serves 8 to 10 people, in a 9 or 10 inch round cake pan

Notes: I added coconut and walnuts but the original recipe just calls for 1 ¼ cups chocolate chips. The final product was a lot less cakey than the original, more like a giant cookie blondie, but I didn’t complain. The almond extract is optional but highly recommended!

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

¼ teaspoon salt

1 stick, or ½ cup, unsalted butter, room temperature, plus extra for greasing pan

1 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

½ teaspoon almond extract

1 egg

1 cup chopped chocolate, dark, or semi-sweet chocolate chips

½ cup walnuts, toasted and cooled

½ cup coconut (mixture sweetened and unsweetened), toasted and cooled

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and prepare a 9 or 10 inch pie plate, cake part, or fluted tart pan by buttering it generously.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, cream butter, brown sugar, and extracts, until lighter in color and fluffy in texture.

4. Add egg to butter mixture and beat until combined, making sure to scrap bottom of bowl to incorporate all ingredients.

5. Add flour mixture and stir just until combined well enough that a few flour streaks remain.

6. Stir in mix-ins until just combined and ingredients are evenly distributed throughout dough.

7. Smooth dough evenly in prepared pan. Bake in preheated oven 18 to 22 minutes until sides are puffed and lightly browned. The middle will appear under-baked.

8. If using a cake pan or pie plate, run a butter knife along the sides of cookie cake after taking it out of the oven. Cool in pan until cake reaches room temperature before removing from baking dish.

Store cooled cookie cake in an airtight container at room temperature up to three days or freeze, double wrapped in plastic, up to a month.

In totally unrelated news, there's a tomato on our tomato plant! What a cutie!!

Leave a Reply

