Breakfast Tuesday: Chocolate Malt Pancakes

August 23, 2011

I’m going to present a little anecdote this morning in order to put things into perspective. Imagine me and a few people out to dinner, laughing, talking, eating, the usual. Imagine a black and white (chocolate and vanilla) malt milkshake sitting on the table in front of me, a glass and a metal tumbler filled with extra milkshake, beautiful in its frosty, creamy deliciousness. If it weren’t for the restaurant chain, I’d name myself the dairy queen and if there’s malt powder in my house it’s almost guaranteed that it won’t last the week. About three quarters of the way through dinner one of my friends (a very, very dear friend) asked if they could sample my milkshake. Hah. I blushed because my milkshake had been long gone by the time she asked. It was pretty embarrassing but, hey, chocolate and malt. Chocolate and malt. One of the best flavor combinations of all time.

I may not be making milkshakes for breakfast today but I am combining chocolate and malt with another food that I love dearly: pancakes. I’ve made malted waffles with great success and wanted to see if I could do the same with pancakes, adding a little chocolate to the mix as an added bonus. I came across a recipe for pancakes using malt powder at King Arthur Flour and, while liking the flavor, was a little disappointed by how little the malt stood out. Though the malt in the original recipe, linked below, was only added to replicate the taste of the famed diner pancake and not to make a “malt pancake” and, wanting a “malt pancake”, I started adding malt, and more malt, and more malt, and then chocolate, until finding a balance that worked for me.

The pancakes are very good – rich with just a touch of chocolate and a hint of malt flavor –  but there’s still room for improvement. I plan on trying these again once I move, maybe with buttermilk and chocolate chips and probably with a lot more malted milk powder. For now, though, maybe try these and see what you think? I’d love ANY suggestions and, if you have a malt-chocolate combination pancake recipe that you think is awesome, let me know!

Chocolate Malt Pancakes

(Recipe adapted from King Arthur Flour)

Yields 10 to 12 pancakes

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 ¼ cups milk

3 tablespoons melted butter (or unflavored oil, such as vegetable or canola)

1 ½ cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

¾ teaspoon salt

1 cup malt powder

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

Butter for greasing skillet

 

Method:

1. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, salt, malt powder, and cocoa powder to combine.

2. In a separate bowl or large liquid measuring cup, whisk eggs and milk for three minutes until foamy. You can do this by hand or with a mixer. Add melted butter and whisk again until combined.

3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir gently to combine, taking care not to over mix.

4. Preheat griddle (or cast-iron skillet) over medium heat and let pancake batter sit for 15 minutes to allow it to thicken.

5. Once griddle is preheated and batter rests up, lightly grease skillet with butter. Scoop batter into pan by the ¼ cupful. When bubbles rise to the surface and bottom is lightly browned, about 2 minutes, and flip pancake and cook until other side is lightly browned. Serve pancakes immediately.

If you want to keep pancakes warm, preheat oven to 200 degrees F while preheating skillet and place pancakes on baking sheet, tented with foil, until ready to serve.

 

Leave a Reply

