Whiskey Hot Fudge (a break from baby carrots)

September 19, 2011

I consider myself a healthy eater. Don’t laugh. I eat carrots with my lunch almost every day, cook at least  three times a week, and keep active by pretending to run* around whatever body of water is closest to my apartment. My all-time, top favorite food might actually be tomatoes. Sometimes K, my roommate, and I eat quinoa and spinach and other super-health-hero-type foods. And then there’s this baking blog. How does one consider oneself a healthy eater when she has to buy butter every single time she goes to the grocery store, or eats some sort of cake/ice cream/pie/cookie every single day, or runs out of heavy cream on a weekly basis? I try, desperately at times, to balance out my baked good obsession with healthy things.

*My idea of running usually means jogging peacefully while making many stops to talk to chipmunks that, more often than not, turn out to be rocks, to coo at ducklings, or, as of late, to ponder how quickly the leaves change in Boston as compared to where I grew up in Pennsylvania.

Well, I’ve been baking a little less lately due to stress and extreme lack of time-management skills, but still have been eating like a normal, healthy adult. A little too well, if you ask me. People, sometimes I just need to go crazy, forget about superfood, and make something ridiculous. I present you with booze-infused hot fudge. Two of the most viciously delicious hedonistic pleasures, whiskey and chocolate, are combined in liquid form, and are just begging you to be eaten warm with ice cream or straight from the fridge, rolled in graham cracker crumbs. I think I hear it calling me now…

Whiskey Hot Fudge Sauce

(Recipe adapted from kitchenplay)

Yields 2 cups hot fudge

Notes: Original recipe calls for bittersweet chocolate, which I switched for dark, and a bit of instant coffee, which I omitted altogether. I also upped the whiskey from 3 tablespoons to ¼ cup. Shhh.

Ingredients:

7 ½ to 8 ounces dark (60% cacao) chocolate, broken up into 2 inch chunks

¼ cup granulated sugar

½ cup light corn syrup

½ cup plus 2 tablespoons water

¾ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

¼ cup whiskey

Method:

1. Melt chocolate in the top of a double boiler, or in a boil over gently simmering water. If using a microwave to melt chocolate, put chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 45 seconds, take it out and stir, then place back in microwave for 30 seconds, and stir again. Repeat this process until chocolate is melted. Once chocolate is melted, set aside.

2. In a medium saucepan, bring granulated sugar, corn syrup, water, and cocoa powder to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer 1 to 2 minutes, stirring or whisking constantly to both dissolve cocoa powder and keep mixture from burning.

3. Keeping mixture over medium-low heat, whisk in melted chocolate until smooth. You can take it off the heat now if you prefer and more liquid-y hot fudge. If not, boil hot fudge for a few minutes until it reaches desired consistency.

4. Once off the heat, whisk in whiskey until smooth.

Keep fudge, stored in an airtight container, in fridge up to a week. To reheat, melt over low heat on stovetop or microwave for 10 to 15 seconds.

Leave a Reply

